Field Setup for Photogrammetry - starting from scratch

SCPO

Good day to everyone.

I am very new to photogrammetry, so this will be an overview of my setup and process for support of a field dig in England in 2024 with a request for input from the group.

Some background on me - I am a retired civilian from the U.S. Air Force with a degree in Engineering Technology from long ago.  I have supported archeological field work in England in 2022 and 2023 as a digger and junior assistant supervisor.  For 2024 I am moving up in the world to support digital documentation of the dig.  One part of that will be photogrammetry of small finds / trench sections and possibly documenting some standing buildings.  

My setup is built around the Nikon D850 with a 200mm Macro lens, a 40mm Macro lens, a 50mm lens, and a 24mm lens, all are prime lenses.  I will also have a zoom lens and a Nikon D70S for general photography.  I have a Cognisys macro rail and turntable.  The macro rail will support focus stacking for very small items and the turntable will be for anything that can fit on it.  I have attached a syrp turntable top to the Cognisys turntable which gives me a nine inch table with a very high weight limit.  The turntable and macro rail are controlled by the Cognisys Stackshot3 controller which is tied to my laptop running Helicon remote and Helicon focus stacking software.  Turntable shooting will be done in tethered mode.