is photogrammetry practicable for factories?

philsogood

hello

i'm a drafter and i work as a freelance (since 1 week)

some of my competitors have scanner(s) to create cloudpoints for revamping some workshops/factories

as i have only few money yet, i can't buy a scanner (25-30k€) so i thought photogrammetry could be a solution. last year during the lockdown i did few tests on a parking area, outdoor, and i works not so bad (i used metashape)... these were my first shots. this week i tried to do the same exercice indoor and the result is definetly poorer! well my camera is a old one (Nikon D80) but it's not a bad reflex with a quite good lense...

not sure  that i can have result usable, with enough precision to be able to work with for my job

if anyone have any feedback about photogrammetry for that kind of use, you're welcome!! :)

Phil

Phil,

I have captured room-sized interior spaces, but haven't imaged or scanned a factory as such; so these are a few generic thoughts, and much depends on the context, and what your deliverables are.