Finding and highlighting PTM coefficients

gautiercap

Hello,

I read with attention Mr. Malzbender's document about PTM Format as well as some other posts here but I haven't found a solution to my problem.

I would like -using the .ptm text file- to find the coefficients used to recreate the dynamic visualization. Basically a0, a1, a2, a3, a4 and a5 in the equation that gives the luminance for each pixel (C = a0Lu² + a1Lv² + a2LuLv + a3Lu + a4Lv + a5). 

I'm studying RGB and LRGB formats. The paper gives for both of these formats the following explanations:

PTM_FORMAT_RGB - In this case, an array of coefficients are

stored separately for each color channel. These are provided in the

following order for a single texel channel:

a0, a1, a2, a3, a4, a5

All red coefficients are stored in a block, followed by the green

channel coefficients, followed by the blue channel.

Coefficients are provided for all textels in this manner in simple

reversed scanline order (meaning from bottom to top). Note that no

separators such as <cr> are used between the individual

coefficients nor between the pixels or blocks.

PTM_FORMAT_LRGB - Here we store only six polynomial

coefficients representing Luminance (normalized usually) followed

by three values for R,G,B which then make up LRGB for color

calculation. The coefficients are stored per texel in a block as:

a0

I, a1

I, a2

I, a3

I, a4

I, a5

I

Followed by the RGB color values in a block ordered as:

R , G, B

Again, coefficients are provided for all textels in this manner in

simple reversed scanline order (meaning from bottom to top). Note

that no separators such as <cr> are used between the individual

coefficients nor between the pixels.

When I open any .ptm text file, I can easily find the header (type, image size,  scale and bias) but then it's a random succession of characters. Are the coefficients accessible by any means?